What States Are Considered Yankees?

If you’re from the Northeastern United States, you might be considered a Yankee. But what about if you’re from other parts of the country? Here’s a look at what states are considered Yankees.

Checkout this video:

The Northeast

The Northeast is made up of the states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. These states are considered Yankees because they were all part of the original thirteen colonies. The Northeast is also home to the largest city in the United States, New York City.

New England

The Northeast is a region of the United States excised from the rest of the country by Canada. It is made up of six states: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. These states are often collectively referred to as New England. The region is known for its American colonial history, beautiful autumn foliage, and lobster.

New York

Yankees is a nickname used to refer to people from the Northeastern United States, especially those from New England. The term originated during the American Revolutionary War and was later used during the American Civil War. It is often used in a pejorative way to refer to people from the Northern United States.


One of the original thirteen colonies, Pennsylvania was founded by William Penn in 1681 as a safe haven for persecuted religious minorities. The colony quickly prospered and became one of the most populous and wealthy in America. Today, Pennsylvania is known as the Keystone State and is home to more than 12 million people. The state’s principal cities are Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and Allentown.

The Midwest

The Midwest is a region of the United States of America located in the north-central part of the country. It is also known as the “Yankeedom” or the “Yankee North”, and its residents are called “Midwesterners”. The Midwest is home to many different cultures and traditions, and its people are known for their hard work and determination.


Although most of the Midwest is considered Yankee territory, Ohio is a state with strong Southern influence. The state has a long border with the Mason-Dixon line, which separated slaveholding and non-slaveholding states during the Civil War. In addition, many residents of Ohio have ancestors who settled in the South before moving to the Midwest. As a result, people in Ohio are sometimes considered Midwesterners with aSouthern twist.


The Midwest is a region of the United States of America known as “America’s Heartland” for its central role in the nation’s manufacturing and agriculture industries, as well as its status as a stronghold of traditional American values. The Midwest is also home to a large number of ornate Victorian-style homes, which are often used in movies and television shows set in small towns.

The Midwest region includes the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.


Located in the Midwestern region of the United States, Indiana is considered a part of the Yankee States. The state shares borders with Illinois, Ohio, Michigan and Kentucky. With a population of over six million people, Indiana is the 16th most populous state in the country. The capital of Indiana is Indianapolis, which is also the largest city in the state.

The South

Yankees is a term used to describe northerners, typically those from the northeastern United States. The term can be used in a positive or negative way, depending on the person’s perspective. Yankees are typically known for being hard workers and for their Yankee ingenuity.


While the answer may seem simple – the South is anything below the Mason-Dixon line – it’s actually much more complicated than that.

The Civil War left the country deeply divided, and the Mason-Dixon line became a symbol of that divide. Over time, the South came to be defined as those states that seceded from the Union during the Civil War. This includes 11 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

However, there are a few exceptions. Some historians include Kentucky and Missouri in the list of Confederate States, while others consider them border states that remained loyal to the Union. Oklahoma was not a state during the Civil War, but was added to the Confederacy by popular vote after it achieved statehood. And West Virginia was actually created during the war as a Unionist response to Virginia’s secession.

So while the Mason-Dixon line is a good starting point, it’s not a perfect guide to what constitutes the South. The best way to understand this region is to explore its history, culture, and people.

North Carolina

Most of North Carolina is considered to be part of the South, with a few exceptions. The northwestern portion of the state is considered to be part of the Mid-Atlantic region, while the northeastern portion is considered to be part of New England.

South Carolina

South Carolina is a state located in the southeastern United States. The state is bordered to the north by North Carolina, to the south and west by Georgia, and to the east by the Atlantic Ocean. South Carolina is known for its coastal beaches, as well as its historic sites and plantation homes.

Scroll to Top