When Do the New York Yankees Play?

Wondering when the New York Yankees play next? Check out their schedule here to find out when they’re playing and get your tickets today!

Checkout this video:

Regular Season

The New York Yankees play their first game of the regular season on Thursday, April 2, 2020, at 1:05 PM EDT. They will be playing the Baltimore Orioles at home in Yankee Stadium. The New York Yankees are in the American League East Division.

Home Games

The New York Yankees play their home games at Yankee Stadium. The season starts in April and ends in September/October, depending on whether or not the team makes it to the playoffs. The Yankees have a total of 81 home games in the regular season.

Away Games

The New York Yankees play their home games at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, New York. Their away games are played at the opposing team’s stadium. The Yankees’ regular season starts in late March or early April and ends in early October. The majority of their games are played during the day, but they also play some games at night.


The Yankees have clinched a spot in the playoffs and will find out their opponent soon. Here is the schedule for the first few rounds of the playoffs. The first game of the ALDS will be on October 4th at either Yankee Stadium or Fenway Park.

Wild Card Game

On Tuesday, October 6, the New York Yankees will play the Baltimore Orioles in the AL Wild Card Game. The game will be televised on ESPN2.

Division Series

The Division Series is the first round of the Major League Baseball postseason. It consists of two best-of-five series, featuring the three division winners and the winner of the wild-card play-in game.

The two division winners with the better record host Games 1, 2, and 5 (if necessary), while the other division winner and the wild-card team host Games 3 and 4 (if necessary); thus, home-field advantage for a Division Series is determined by regular-season record. The format has changed several times since 1982: from 1982 to 1985, as many as four teams played in each League’s Division Series; from 1986 to 1993, there were two best-of-five series (with reseeding) in each League; from 1994 to 2011 a single best-of-five series was played in each League; starting in 2012 a new four team tournament structure was installed

In 2012, under this new format, each League played two best-of-five Wild Card games, with the winners playing one another in a best-of-five Division Series. The Division Series is also referred to as simply “theDS” or “the LDS” (for League Division Series), though this apparent shorthand is not used very often by MLB itself.

American League Championship Series

The American League Championship Series (ALCS) is a best-of-seven playoff and one of two League Championship Series comprising the penultimate round of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) postseason. It is contested by the winners of the two American League (AL) Division Series. The winner of the ALCS wins the AL pennant and advances to play the winner of the National League’s (NL) Championship Series, in the World Series, MLB’s championship series.

In Major League Baseball, the ALCS is played in October, following the AL Division Series (ALDS). The ALDS winner plays the NLDS winner in the best-of-seven World Series. In 2004, a new playoff format was introduced whereby each league played a best-of-five series to determine which team would advance to their respective League Championship Series. The winners of that round then advanced to play in their respective LCS.

World Series

The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball (MLB) in North America, contested since 1903 between the American League (AL) champion team and the National League (NL) champion team. The winner of the World Series championship is determined through a best-of-seven playoff, and the winning team is awarded the Commissioner’s Trophy. As the series is played during the fall season in North America, it is sometimes referred to as the Fall Classic.

Scroll to Top