Who Are the New York Yankees’ TV Announcers?

If you’re a fan of the New York Yankees, you’re probably familiar with the team’s TV announcers. But who are the people behind the scenes? Here’s a look at the men and women who bring Yankees games to life on television.

Checkout this video:


The New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are a baseball team that competes in the American League East division of Major League Baseball. The Yankees have been in existence since 1901, and they have won 27 World Series championships. The team plays its home games at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, New York. The Yankees are owned by Yankee Global Enterprises, and they are currently managed by Aaron Boone. The team’s television broadcasters are Michael Kay, David Cone, Jim Kaat, Paul O’Neill, and Ken Singleton.

The New York Yankees’ TV Announcers

Since the 2017 season, the television announcers for the New York Yankees have been Michael Kay and Paul O’Neill, with Meredith Marakovits serving as the field reporter. Kay, who also calls play-by-play for the YES Network’s simulcasts of New York Yankees radio broadcasts, has been with the team since 1993. O’Neill, a former Yankee outfielder, has been with the team since 2002. Marakovits joined the team in 2014.

Who are the New York Yankees’ TV Announcers?

The New York Yankees are a professional baseball team based in the Bronx, New York City. They compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) East division. They are one of two major league clubs based in New York City; the other club is the National League’s (NL) New York Mets.The Yankees began play in the 1901 season as the Baltimore Orioles (no relation to the modern Baltimore Orioles). In 1903, Frank Farrell and Bill Devery purchased the franchise after it ceased operations and moved it to New York City, renaming the club the New York Highlanders. The Highlanders were officially renamed as the “Yankees” in 1913.The team is owned by Yankee Global Enterprises, an LLC that is controlled by Hal Steinbrenner, and managed by Brian Cashman. The team’s home games were played at Yankee Stadium from 1923 until 1973 and from 1976 to 2008. In 1974 and 1975, the Yankees shared Shea Stadium with fellow MLB team New York Mets, as well as that year’s World Series champions Kansas City Royals while Yankee Stadium was being renovated. In 2009, they moved into a new ballpark of the same name that was constructed adjacent to the previous facility.

The New York Yankees’ TV Announcers

The New York Yankees are a baseball team located in the Bronx, New York. They are members of the American League East division in Major League Baseball. The Yankees’ radio and television rights are owned by the YES Network. The current television announcers for the team are Michael Kay, Ken Singleton, David Cone, and Paul O’Neill.

Michael Kay

Michael Kay is the play-by-play voice of the New York Yankees. He is also a host on ESPN radio and TV. He has been with the Yankees since 1997.

Kay has called various sports throughout his career including horse racing, college basketball, and tennis.

In 2002, Kay was nominated for a New York Emmy Award for his work on the YES Network’s Yankee telecasts. He won the award in 2008 and 2009.

Ken Singleton

Kenneth Edwin “Ken” Singleton (born July 18, 1947) is an American former right fielder and Major League Baseball (MLB) broadcaster. He played for three teams during his 16-year MLB career from 1970 to 1986, most notably the Montreal Expos and New York Yankees. He currently serves as a commentator for SportsNet New York (SNY).

During his broadcasting career, Singleton has served as a play-by-play announcer and color analyst. He was named National Sportscaster of the Year by the American Sportscasters Association in 2000. He has called four World Series (for CBS Radio in 1997 and 1998 and for ESPN Radio in 1999 and 2000), three All-Star Games (1998, 1999, and 2000), and six League Championship Series (for ESPN Radio in 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2003, 2004).

Paul O’Neill

Paul Gerald O’Neill (born February 25, 1963), nicknamed “Paulie”, is an American former professional baseball right fielder who played 17 seasons in Major League Baseball (MLB), spending the majority of his career with the Cincinnati Reds and New York Yankees.

In a 17-year MLB career, O’Neill amassed 2,105 hits while batting .288 with281 home runs and 1,269 runs batted in (RBIs). He won five World Series while playing for the Yankees. O’Neill won the American League batting title in 1994 with a .359 average and was a five-time All-Star. Additionally, he won three Silver Slugger Awards and four Gold Glove Awards during his career.

O’Neill is considered one of the best right fielders of his generation. He regularly ranks high on lists of players who never won a MVP Award. He currently serves as a broadcaster for the Yankees on the YES Network.

The New York Yankees’ Radio Announcers

The New York Yankees have a long and storied history, dating back to their founding in 1903. The team has had many great players, managers, and announcers over the years. The current TV announcers for the Yankees are John Sterling and Suzyn Waldman.

John Sterling

John Sterling is the radio play-by-play announcer for the New York Yankees. He has held this position since 1989, and is currently contracted through the 2021 season. Sterling is known for his home run calls, which often include player nicknames and other colorful phrases.

Suzyn Waldman

Suzyn Waldman has been the radio color commentator for the New York Yankees since 2005. Waldman is a sports broadcaster with a long history in the New York City market. Prior to joining the Yankees, she was the radio play-by-play voice for the New York WNBA Liberty and worked as a sports reporter for WFAN and WCBS 880.

Scroll to Top