Who Are the Yankees in the Civil War?

Most people think of the Yankees as the Union army in the Civil War. But there were actually two different groups of Yankees.

Checkout this video:

The North

The Yankees in the Civil War were the Union soldiers from the Northern states. The Yankees fought against the Confederates, who were the soldiers from the Southern states. The Yankees were led by General Ulysses S. Grant, and the Confederates were led by General Robert E. Lee.

The Union

The Union was also known as the North. The primary reason for this was that the vast majority of the Northern states were in favor of abolishing slavery, whereas most of the Southern states were in support of keeping it.

The Union army was led by General Ulysses S. Grant, and it comprised of several different types of units, including infantry, cavalry, and artillery. The Union army fought against the Confederate army in a total of 10 major battles, known as the “10 major battles of the civil war.”

The Confederacy

The Confederacy, also known as the Confederate States of America (CSA) or the Southern Confederacy, was an unrecognized breakaway state in existence from February 8, 1861, to May 9, 1865, that comprised 11 secessionist slave-holding states of the United States of America.

The South

The Union

The Union was made up of those states that remained loyal to the U.S. government during the American Civil War (1861-1865). The Union began the war with 23 states, and gained five more during the conflict. The total number of Union states by the end of the war was 28.

The Union states were:

– Illinois
– Indiana
– Iowa
– Kansas
– Maine
– Michigan
– Minnesota
– Missouri
– Nebraska
– Nevada
– New Hampshire
– New Jersey
– New York
– Ohio
– Oregon
– Pennsylvania
– Rhode Island
-(Western) Virginia      Wisconsin

The Confederacy

The Confederacy, also known as the Rebel States or the Southern States, was a group of eleven states that seceded from the United States prior to the outbreak of the American Civil War. The secession was mainly due to disagreement over the issue of slavery and states’ rights. The Confederacy included Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

Scroll to Top