Who Came First: The Mets or the Yankees?

The New York Mets and the New York Yankees are two of the most iconic baseball teams in America. But who came first? The answer may surprise you.

Checkout this video:


The Mets and the Yankees are two Major League Baseball (MLB) teams that share a city: New York City, New York. The teams play in different boroughs of the city (the Mets in Queens and the Yankees in the Bronx), but they both call NYC home. And, despite their close proximity, these two teams have some of the biggest rivalries in baseball. So, who came first? Who was NYC’s first MLB team?

The New York Mets

The New York Mets are a Major League Baseball team based in Queens, New York. They play in the National League East division. The Mets were founded in 1962 as an expansion team of the existing National League. They are one of two Major League Baseball teams located in New York City, the other being the Yankees.

The New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are a professional baseball team based in the Bronx, New York City, that competes in Major League Baseball (MLB). They are one of the American League’s (AL) eight charter franchises. In terms of titles, the Yankees’ 27 World Series wins are more than any other MLB team.

The franchise began play in Baltimore as the Milwaukee Brewers (not to be confused with the current MLG team of the same name) in 1901. They were then known as the New York Highlanders from 1903–1912 and as the Yankees from 1913 onwards.


It is clear that the Yankees came first, as they were founded in 1901. The Mets were not founded until 1962, which means that the Yankees have over 60 years of history on their side.

Scroll to Top