Why Are the Mets and Yankees in Different Leagues?

The Mets and Yankees have been in different leagues since 1903. There are a few reasons for this. The first reason is that the American League was established in 1901 as a major league, while the National League was established in 1876.

Checkout this video:


The American and National Leagues of Major League Baseball (MLB) are two professional sports leagues that operate in the United States and Canada. Each league has 16 teams. The two leagues meet annually in the World Series.

The Mets and Yankees are two of the most successful franchises in MLB history. They have both won multiple World Series titles and are two of the most popular teams in baseball. However, despite their success and popularity, the Mets and Yankees have always been in different leagues.

Why are the Mets and Yankees in different leagues? The answer to this question is complicated and has to do with the history of MLB.

In 1876, MLB was founded as the National League of Professional Base Ball Clubs. The first teams were all located in the Northeastern United States. In 1900, a second league, called the American League, was founded. This league was also made up of teams from the Northeastern United States.

The American League was originally seen as a minor league to the National League. However, over time, the American League proved to be competitive with the National League. In 1903, the two leagues made a peace agreement that resulted in both leagues operating independently from each other.

As part of this agreement, it was decided that each league would have an equal number of teams. This is why there are 16 teams in each league today. It was also decided that each league would have its own champions who would then play each other in the World Series.

So, why are the Mets and Yankees in different leagues? The answer is that they have always been in different leagues because they were founded by different groups of people at different times in baseball history.

The Three Major Leagues

Major League Baseball is divided into the National League and the American League, each of which is further divided into three divisions. The Yankees play in the American League East, while the Mets play in the National League East.

The American League

The American League (AL) is one of two leagues that make up Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada. The other league is the National League (NL). Each league is further divided into three divisions: the East, Central, and West. There are 14 teams in the American League and 16 teams in the National League.

The American League was founded in 1901. It originally consisted of eight teams: the Boston Americans (now the Red Sox), the Chicago White Stockings (now the White Sox), the Cleveland Blues (now the Indians), the Detroit Tigers, the Milwaukee Brewers (now the Brewers), the Minnesota Twins (then known as the Washington Senators), the New York Yankees, and the Philadelphia Athletics. The league expanded to ten teams in 1961 with the addition of two new franchises: the Los Angeles Angels and the Washington Senators (now the Texas Rangers). The league expanded again to 12 teams in 1969 with two more new franchises:

In 1993, another expansion brought two more teams into Major League Baseball, giving each league an odd number of teams: 14. These were again expansion franchises,

Today, there are 30 Major League Baseball teams: 15 in each league.

The National League

The National League of Major League Baseball (MLB) is widely considered to be the older of the two leagues, and dates back to 1876. Originally consisting of ten teams, the NL has undergone several changes in structure throughout its history, culminating in the current 16-team league. Of MLB’s 30 teams, 15 play in the National League.

The NL also has two divisions: the East and the West. The East consists of the Atlanta Braves, Miami Marlins, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, and Washington Nationals. The West is made up of the Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres, San Francisco Giants, and the NL’s newest team, the Milwaukee Brewers.

For most of its history, the National League operated as a single entity without divisions or playoffs; however, that changed in 1969 when Major League Baseball implemented a four-team playoff system. Under this system, the top team from each division (the division winner) would advance to the postseason along with two “wild card” teams (the second-place team with the best record from each league). This system was used until 1993 when baseball expanded its playoffs to include eight teams (six division winners plus two wild card teams).

The Federal League

In baseball, there are two different leagues- the American League (AL) and the National League (NL). But why are the New York Mets (NL) and New York Yankees (AL) in different leagues? The answer goes back to the early 1900s when there were three major baseball leagues.

The Federal League was a third major league that operated from 1914-1915. The Federal League was considered an ‘outlaw’ league because it was not recognized by the two major baseball leagues at the time, the National League and American League. During the time that the Federal League operated, there were a total of eight teams. Six of those teams were located in Midwestern cities, while the remaining two teams were located in broom closet-sized Polo Grounds in upper Manhattan. Those two teams were the Brooklyn Tip-tops and the New York Americans (later renamed the Brooklyn Dodgers). When the Federal League ceased operations in 1915, both of those teams joined the National League. And that is how come to this day, there are two MLB teams in New York City- The Mets (NL) and Yankees (AL).

The New York Mets

The New York Mets are a Major League Baseball team based in New York City. The Mets compete in the National League East division. The Mets are one of two Major League Baseball teams located in New York City; the other is the New York Yankees.

The team’s history

The New York Mets are a Major League Baseball team that plays in the National League East division. The Mets began play in 1962 as an expansion team, replacing the departed Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Giants. The Mets’ colors are blue and orange, reflective of the colors of both the Dodgers and Giants. The team’s home ballpark is Citi Field, located in Queens.

The Mets have won two World Series championships (1986 and 2015) and five National League pennants (1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, and 2015). The franchise has also produced several Hall of Fame players, including Tom Seaver, Mike Piazza, Eddie Murray, Gary Carter, Darryl Strawberry, and Dwight Gooden.

The team’s rivalry with the Yankees

The New York Mets are a professional baseball team based in the borough of Queens in New York City. They compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division. They are one of two MLB teams based in New York City, the other being the Yankees. One of baseball’s first Expansion Teams, the Mets were founded in 1962 to replace New York’s departed NL teams, the Brooklyn Dodgers and the New York Giants. The Mets’ colors are blue and orange, after the Dodger’s blue and the Giant’s orange. During their 51-season history, the Mets have played in four World Series and appeared in seven Fall Classics overall.


In conclusion, the Mets and Yankees are in different leagues because of historical divisional realignment that occurred in the late 19th century. At that time, the National League was divided into two parts, the East and West. The Mets were placed in the East, while the Yankees were placed in the West. While this may seem like a random decision, it actually had a lot to do with geography and baseball rivalries.

Scroll to Top